Chamber Choice Awards – 2018

The Perham Area Chamber of Commerce has announced the recipients of the 2018 Chamber Choice Awards. The awards are our way of showing these individuals how much the Perham Area community appreciates them and the work they do. Recipients include:

  • The Leadership Award: Staci Malikowski
  • The Hall of Fame Award: Separately to John Turgeon and Mike Parta
  • The Humanitarian Award: Ruby’s Pantry
  • The Volunteer Award: Separately to Dale Wanderi and History Museum of East Otter Tail County
  • The Best in Business Award: Gathering Grounds 
  • The Small-Town Spirit Award: GrandStay Hotel & Suites 

To honor these recipients who have been so generous with our community, a banquet will be held on Thursday, April 12 at The Cactus. Social hour at 5:30pm, dinner at 6:30pm, and awards presentation at 7:15pm. The public is invited. Friends and family are encouraged to attend.

To reserve your ticket, email or call 218-346-7710, cost is $25 in advance and $30 at the door. Those who are unable to attend the meal are invited for the awards ceremony which starts at approximately 7:15pm. 


We love recognizing people for their hard work. That’s why we created the Chamber Choice Awards Banquet. Each year, the Perham Area Chamber of Commerce puts together the banquet to recognize businesses and individuals who have done great things in and for our community.  Nominations for the awards are submitted by the public in January. Recipients are selected for awards by a committee, and the public is invited to a banquet honoring these award winners. Awards are described as follows:

The Leadership Award – This award is given to someone who has done an especially good job in leading the community on a project or an important issue. These nominees tend to be involved in organizations that help people or help in community projects, and they are highly generous with their leadership skills.

The Hall of Fame Award – This award is given to someone who deserves to be recognized for his or her work for the community over time. This person would be considered an integral part of the community and highly involved in making Perham a better community. These nominees might have been in business or a service sector in the community, working or retired, living or deceased or even former residents.

The Humanitarian Award – This award is given to an individual or organization who is devoted to improving the physical and/or emotional welfare of those in our community

The Best in Business Award – This award is given to a business or organization that continues to strive to remain competitive and innovative. 

The Small Town Spirit Award – This award will go to a business or organization that consistently exhibits outstanding customer service, support, and community spirit. 

The banquet is typically held in April. Cost is $25, and includes a sit-down dinner. Pre-registration is encouraged to help make the evening run smoothly. If you do not wish to attend the dinner, the doors will be opened for free admission after the meal.

Contact the Perham Area Chamber of Commerce at (218) 346-7710 to register.

Past Recipients

Volunteer Award

2017 – Harriet Mattfeld, Mark J Schmidt

2016 – Richville Clothing Mission – Winnie Huwe & Mary Hein

2015 – Tyler Krumwiede, Lenny Johnson, Merle Thompson, Joyce Koelln, and Fern Boedigheimer

2014 – Cindy Olson

2013 – Lynette Grismer, Catherine Drahmann

Best in Business Award

2017 – Leighton Broadcasting

2016 – Goose Gang

2015 – Brew Ales & Eats

Small Town Spirit Award

2017 – Perham Meat & Locker Plant

2016 – Murdock’s Ace Hardware

2015 – United Community Bank

Chamber Champion Award

2015 – Dean’s Country Market

Leadership Award

2017 – Mark Lenius, Chuck Johnson

2016 – Tuffy’s Pet Food Leadership Team

2015 – Tammy Sturdevant

2014 – Doug and Sue Huebsch

2013 – Jeff Morris

2012 – Dave Cresap & Perham Health Directors

2011 – Nick Theroux

2010 – Dennis Happel, Rev. Phil Holtan

2009 – Echo Dockter, Jenny Caughey

2008 – Honor Flight Project Fundraisers

2007 – Fred Sailer

2006 – Charlie Fleck

2005 – Angel of Hope Committee

2004 – Chuck Hofius

2003 – Gary Ebeling

2002 – Jim Hammers, Jean Johnson

2001 – Carl Analora

2000 – Dennis Drummond

1999 – Lina Belar

1998 – Marlin Zitzow

1997 – Les Gunderson

1996 – Alan Krueger, Dennis Happel

1995 – Jane Aschnewitz

1994 – Doug Eckes

1993 – Jack Cavanagh

1992 – Bill Bauck

1991 – Terry Karkela

1990 – Fred Huebsch,Sherman Mandt

1989 – Tom Meinhover

1988 – Ken Nelson

1987 – Allen Arvig

1986 – Tuffy Nelson

1985 – Don Swenson

Hall of Fame

2017 – Dan Schroeder, Dean Simpson

2016 – Mike Peterson

2016 – Jerry Kunza

2015 – Dr. Rand Stolee and Chuck Johnson

2014 – Lisa Peterson

2013 – Jill Shipman

2012 – Pastor Tom Mitchell

2011 – Ken Nelson

2010 – Allen Arvig

2009 – Russ Bunker, Gina Cavanagh

2008 – Bob Louiseau, Jerome Boedigheimer

2007 – Kevin Kosiak

2006 – Bob Perry, Mary Thomas

2005 – Sherman Mandt

2004 – Dale Wright, Net Kupferschmid, Bonnie & Del Stohs

2003 – Sherryl Holzer, Bill Parks, Kathryn Perszyk, Larry Kempenich, Arnie

2002 – Bob Kinlund, Arne Thompson

2001 – Kathy Hemmelgarn, Lawrence & Mary Ann Guck, Ron & Dee Anderson

2000 – George Kupferschmid, Leona Rothiger, Paul Miller, Delores Wasche, Mary

1999 – Bernard Palubicki, John Knight, Palmer Pederson, Clarence Boedigheimer

1998 – Denzil Cooper, Eleanor Arvig, Don Olson

1997 – M.J. Daly, Ed Ebeling, Catherine Drahmann

1996 – Ernie Kollar, Charlie Olson, Al Schoeneberger

1995 – Al Bretz, Ed Bauck, The Franciscan Sisters

1994 – Mac Tobkin, Royale B. Arvig, George Bauck, Art Carow, Verona Larson


© 2017 Perham Chamber of Commerce. Website by Arvig® Media.